Does God still judge believers who sin?

I have been preaching through the book of Daniel and I am now in chapter 9.  Daniel prays in chapter 9 for the forgiveness and restoration of the nation of Israel to a proper relationship with God.  The people had experienced judgment/punishment at the hands of God that was severe.  I mention again that these are God’s people. 

I was discussing this point with another believer, wondering aloud what form God’s judgment/punishment takes in the lives of Christians today.  Is it possible (as one of my former professors believes) that God has judged the Church today, with apathy?  The person I mentioned this to, thought it was not possible.  The person did not believe that God would ever “give up” on a believer. 

I think the answer to that person’s statement is, yes and no.  No, God does not ever remove the justification that a person has received through faith in Christ’s death and resurrection (eternal security).  Yes, I do believe that God judges/punishes Christians severely at times for their sin (see Hebrews 10:26-30; 1 Cor. 11:27-32).  I don’t know exactly what God is doing to punish the sins of the Church right now, but I am certain that if He hasn’t done so already, He will.  God forgive us for our selfishness and worldliness.

Leave a Reply

