The necessity of prayer – help please!!!!

I am beginning to realize that it is not academic preparation/training, and right answers alone that are necessary for doing life and ministry properly for the honor and glory of God. If Christ followers are to properly know and serve God on this earth, we must become people who are disciplined in prayer. We must take the time necessary to seek out God and ask Him to help us to know Him and live for Him. As I write this post I feel inadequate to explain the necessity of prayer. It has been something that has been a struggle for me. Prayer means to stop and be dependent. Left to myself, I want to do anything but stop and be dependent. My thought is usually, “God I think I know what You want me to do, so I am going to go do it now.” This has led to little fruit for God. I am learning more and more to go someplace alone, and cry out to God. I am finding it takes time, my soul needs to take this time. It takes a considerable amount of time to commune with God, it cannot be rushed. This is very difficult, we are trained to get as much done as possible, in as little time as necessary. Life giving prayer is not like that. It takes considerable time. If you feel like you are drowning, or gasping for air (which ever metaphor fits) spiritually, go someplace alone and cry out to God. If you are overwhelmed at the amount of areas you need help with, start with one area. Just be honest with God, ask for help!

Leave a Reply

